Rust Audio

How to do logging in the real-time critical part

Hi all.

As the title says: does anybody have an idea how to achieve this? Until now, I simply use the simple log cate, but this is not suited in a real-time context (as are most, if not all, crates around logging). This doesn’t really matter when I only enable logging during debugging, but it still doesn’t feel right.

What are your strategies for this right now? Any suggestions?

I’m not experienced in the field, but I guess you could send logs via lock-free message queue (it seems crossbeam channels have non-blocking mode) from RT to some other thread, and then do the actual logging in that other thread.

That’s probably what I would do too, with the unfortunate side-effect that your timestamps wouldn’t be accurate.

Depending on what you’re doing, you might also consider doing the following things:

• If your algorithm isn’t producing the sample values that you expect, debug it in a non-realtime context: move your DSP algorithm to a binary crate, and do something like println!("{}, {}", sample_number, sample_value)
  • If your algorithm isn’t fast enough, write a few benchmark tests to identify the slow part of the algorithm

You might also consider just logging from the real-time context anyway during debugging, and removing the logs after you’ve figured out what you needed to. This might not be good enough if you’re trying to debug timings; that’s going to be pretty difficult to do.

1 Like

The way SuperCollider handles it is that there is a message queue between the real time engine, and the NRT engine. And SuperCollider sends a log message with a timestamp to the NRT engine, which adds it to the log file at its leisure.

I barely know rust, but I think this is a general audio processing problem.