Rust Audio

Creating a simple audio player, mixer with fade in/out

Hi,

I want to create a simple audio player that can mix multiple audio tracks and fade in and out. I want to be able to control the fading curves (mathematically).

My final goal is to create smooth fades that sound like you walk away from something (e.g. a concert) so I guess an LFO would be something nice.

Currently I played around with rodio. Every few milliseconds I set a new volume with sink.set_volume, but I am not sure this is the best way to go. I would prefer to control the volume for each audio sample. Or is that a bad idea (I am very new to audio programming)? Is this possible with rodio?

Can you recommend a way to proceed or which crates to use?

In the end it should run on a Raspberry Pi.

Some background to my project:

Hi @Tobx, welcome to this forum!

I have to admit I have no experience with rodio. There have been quite some questions about it on this forum and it seems that it’s sometimes a bit too high level for what people want to do. Now in your case, I think you can perfectly give it a try (but see below).

If I look at the implementation of set_volume I see it uses a Mutex, which is in general a no-go in real-time audio, but there may be reasons why it’s ok in this context (I think the locking does not run in the real-time thread).

Another aspect is that if the volume (or rather amplitude) jumps from one value to another, this may give clicks and cause an artifact around 1000Hz. Now if you do a step every millisecond and you transition from silence to full volume in 60 seconds = 60000 milliseconds, the steps are very small and you will probably not note anything (unless you have a very good ear).